UOL IP CHESS – Session to Commence in September

UOL IP CHESS – Session to Commence in September

Certificate of Higher Education in Social Sciences (CHESS)
The Certificate of Higher Education in Social Sciences (CHESS) is offered for the first time in 2016-17 through the Economics, Management, Finance and the Social Sciences suite of programmes. The CHESS replaces two previous programmes at the same level, the Diploma in Economics and the Diploma in Social Sciences.

The CHESS retains a large number of similarities with the Diplomas, being the same level, the same number of courses and continuing to offer a way for students to progress onto an EMFSS degree programme.

Students already studying on one of the Diplomas can continue with their studies, or can choose to switch over to the CHESS. Further details of the CHESS are given below.

First year available for registration: 2016-17

Awarding body: University of London

Lead College: LSE. Part of the suite of programmes referred to as Economics, Management, Finance and the Social Sciences, or ‘EMFSS’.

Programme and course levels: The programme and all the courses available are placed at FHEQ Level 4. Courses at this level in the EMFSS suite of programmes are referred to as ‘100 courses’. A full course is 30 UK credits and a half course is 15 UK credits.

Entrance requirements:
1. Age Requirements: Students must normally be aged 18 or above before 31 December in the year they first register.

2. Entrance qualifications:
• One GCE/A level (or equivalent) and 4 GCSE/O levels (or equivalent as set out in the Qualifications for Entrance PDF on the International Programmes website) including Mathematics
• Six GCSE/O levels (or equivalent) including Mathematics

3. Maths requirements: GCSE/O level Maths with a grade C or above or equivalent.

4. English language proficiency: IELTS 6.0 (with a minimum of 5.5 in each sub-test) or equivalent, as set out on the International Programmes website.

Note: The entrance requirements as above are a minimum level. Institutions may set higher entry requirements and other additional requirements that students will need to meet to gain access to the programme at their chosen institution.

Programme Structure:

Four full courses (or half course equivalents) to be chosen from the following, with no more than two law courses:
AC1025 Principles of accounting MT1173 Algebra
DV1171 Introduction to international development MT1174 Calculus
▲EC1002 Introduction to economics PS1130 Introduction to modern political thought
FN1024 Principles of banking and finance PS1172 Introduction to political science
GY1009 Human geography SC1179 Contemporary sociology in a global age
IR1011 Introduction to international relations SC1158 Reading social science (half course)
IR1034 World history since 1945 ST104A Statistics 1 (half course)
IS1060 Introduction to information systems ▲ST104B Statistics 2 (half course)
IS1168 Introduction to computer systems architecture and programming LA1010 Criminal law *
MN1178 Business and management in a global context LA1020 Public law *
MT105A Mathematics 1 (half course) LA1031 Legal system and method *
▲MT105B Mathematics 2 (half course) LA1040 Contract law *

▲ indicates that:
• EC1002 can only be taken at the same time or after MT105A and ST104A
• MT105B can only be taken at the same time or after MT105A
• ST104B can only be taken at the same time or after ST104A
* indicates that students can take a maximum of two of these courses.

Students should note that their course selection will be subject to availability and not all courses will necessarily be available at their chosen teaching institutions.

Regulations: From 2016-17, the aim is that the Certificate of Higher Education in Social Sciences, the Diploma in Economics and the Diploma in Social Sciences will have their own set of programme regulations. This means that for the EMFSS suite of programmes, there will be three sets of regulations –
• CertHE and Diplomas
• BSc and Graduate Diploma/Diploma for Graduates
• Individual Courses
Regulations for the current year can be downloaded from the International Programmes website.

Minimum registration period 1 year
Maximum registration period 5 years